Menu

I usually plan our weekly menu on a Sunday afternoon, but tweak it a bit sometimes after I’ve been to the supermarket on Tuesday morning.  Our menu for this week is:

  • Sunday – roast pork, stuffing, roast potatoes, roast parsnips, carrots, broccoli;  white chocolate cheesecake with raspberries
  • Monday – (Korean student out)  haggis, neeps (swede) and tatties (potatoes, mashed);  leftover cheesecake
  • Tuesday – (everyone out except our student)  Beef stew, mashed potatoes, cauliflower, green beans;  ice cream
  • Wednesday – lunch: goose, bean and leek soup (goose stock and leftovers from Christmas dinner)   dinner: lasagne, roast veg., garlic bread; flourless chocolate cake with whipped cream
  • Thursday – lunch: soup as yesterday    dinner: coley wrapped in bacon, spinach sauce, green beans, new potatoes;  jam roly poly with custard
  • Friday – prawn and spinach curry, rice;  rhubarb tart
  • Saturday – (Mum visiting over lunch)  lunch: goat’s cheese and cranberry sauce filo parcels, rocket and watercress salad, birthday cake + ?    dinner: three bean and mushroom chili, rice, sour cream;  ice cream

I often have a problem thinking up puddings.  My husband and father-in-law do not feel they have had a real meal unless it ends with something sweet (spoilt, huh!).  I haven’t been able to break this for them so I have caved in to it (it is quite enjoyable after all).  I don’t like to serve the same thing two days in a row to our student, so usually we keep left-overs for lunch.  Savoury left-overs I freeze as a ready-meal for one for another time or emergencies.  This week I have cheated in a big way and all of the puddings except the cheesecake are shop-bought (all on special offers).

1 Comment

Filed under kitchen

One response to “Menu

  1. Ah Kate – it all sounds so lovely! Can you cook for me? 🙂

    I neglect visiting for some time – and see what I’ve missed?

    I will pray for you regarding the adoption. I will pray for peace for you and your husband, dear friend!

Leave a Reply

