Slow cooking Thusday

slowcooking2.jpg  This is such a great idea, Sandra over at http://familycorner.blogspot.com  has started a crockpot recipe exchange – an opportunity to share slow cooker recipes that work.  I only got my crockpot last spring – when I suggested buying one to my husband he actually waved his arms in the air and shouted “Praise the Lord!”  He loves stews and soups, I’m not such a fan of them but am definitely a fan of cheap and easy cooking.  I now use our slow cooker at least a couple of times each week.

Today I’m cooking leek and potato soup  (serves 4):

chop and put in cooker on high for 3 hours:

2 large leeks, 1lb potatoes (about 3 medium ones), 2 or 3 cloves of garlic

add 2 pints (1.25litres) hot vegetable stock, a little lemon juice (a dessert spoonful max.) and you’re done!  Add a little freshly ground pepper when serving.

A much classier version is leek, potato and fish soup:

follow the same recipe and method as above but also adding a pound (450g approx) white fish fillet, and substitute fish stock for the vegetable stock (or just use plain water for a more delicate flavour). 

With either recipe a small glass of white wine added at the beginning of cooking will deepen all the flavours. (the alcohol evaporates anyway).  The lemon juice takes the place of extra salt.

3 Comments

Filed under kitchen

3 responses to “Slow cooking Thusday

  1. Pardon my ignorance about cooking fish, but can you use frozen fish if you thaw it out first?

  2. Both of these versions of Potato Leek Soup sound wonderful! I’m printing out the recipes. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Oh, I love pasta recipes and being able to throw everything in a crockpot and walk away sounds great to me! I’ll be trying this one. 🙂

    I’d love it if you’d stop by and contribute to my Super Bowl Sunday edition of my Favorite Ingredients Friday recipe exchange today!

  3. vicaragekate

    I usually do use frozen fish (cheaper and more convenient), thawing it first and adding any juices that come out to the soup.

Leave a Reply

