Menu

Our Korean guest is still away this week (we think he’s coming back on Saturday night), but my father-in-law returned unexpectedly on Sunday night after his cousin was taken into hospital suffering from pneumonia (thankfully my FIL was fine, and his cousin is recovering well, too).  So I’m cooking for three this week.  On the menu for this week is:

Sunday – roast chicken breast wrapped in bacon with stuffing, roast potatoes, cauliflower, broccoli

Monday – take away!

Tuesday – lunch: leek and bean soup;   dinner: mushroom and vegetable stir-fry, brown rice

Wednesday – lunch: lentil, lemon and thyme soup;  dinner: fishcakes on a bed of spinach and leeks

Thursday – lunch: soup from yesterday;  dinner: tuna pasta bake (experiment!)

Friday – smoked mackerel, new potatoes, vegetables still to be decided

Saturday – chicken in a mediterranean tomato sauce, roast veg, green lentils

pudding throughout the week is low-calorie ice cream

Sunday dinner will be roast beef, roast pots, roast parsnips, carrots, brussel sprouts.

I’m trying to give us a variety of carbohydrates in our diet.  We’ve only just started eating brown rice and I was amazed at what a lovely nutty flavour it has – I’m still getting to grips with the much longer cooking time it takes, though.

3 Comments

Filed under kitchen

3 responses to “Menu

  1. What? No penguin on the menu? 🙂

    You are really, really making me look like a bad cook. 🙂

    Tell Simon how fortunate he is, to have a woman who takes care of his stomach so well! 🙂

  2. Simon

    I know I’m very lucky but she keeps telling me to lose weight then making lots of fattening things for me to eat. I’m not complaining but its a bit confusing!

  3. vicaragekate

    I’m just trying to make sure he can’t get that wedding ring off!. . .

Leave a Reply

