animal crackers and adoption

Reaching for my hairbrush this morning I saw that my bag of manicure essentials had been strewn all over the top of our chest of drawers.  My husband was the obvious one to blame, then I realised that half of an emery board had been chewed and eaten.  A strange image sprang to mind, but the toothmarks were small so the cat was clearly the culprit.  I’m not sure whether this qualifies as good dental hygiene for cats or not.  Me thinks I’d better start doing up the zip on the bag.

The dog was absolutely delighted yesterday when my husband retrieved a bouquet of roses he had hidden in the garage.  The dog ran round him, then ran upstairs to find me, ran round me, ran out to my husband again, back to me. . . he was tearing backwards and forwards with hyperactive ecstasy.  He seemed to understand that this was a present for me, a special occasion.  He certainly made it an even more joyous moment (not so romantic, perhaps!).

Our membership package for the charity “Adoption UK” arrived yesterday, complete with a copy of their current magazine (which looks full of good articles) and a copy of their publication “children who wait” which features some of the children for whom permanent homes are being sought.  It is far too early for us to be looking seriously at pictures and profiles, but it is useful to get a better idea of what kinds and ages of children are out there.  It is heartbreaking, too – there are so many gorgeous children and one wonders what they have been through already and where they will end up.  There are some large sibling groups of four or five to be placed together.  Some siblings are being separated, a decision I know is never taken lightly these days.  There is rarely any information on how or when any of the children came into care, though the information on which relatives they will have contact with and whether it is to be letterbox or direct gives a glimpse of their situation.  Some of the photos are so poignant – you feel the children are putting on extra big smiles to make themselves attractive to potential adopters.  The brief information on the children challenges you to take on the attitude of a cynic reading property ads.  Just as estate agents use coded phrases such as “plenty of rustic charm” (which in standard English translates into “needs major modernisation work”), social workers and adoption agencies clearly have their own phrases which they use, e.g. “needs boundaries,” “needs energetic parents”. . .  Still, looking at the profiles, I could fall in love a hundred times over. . .

2 Comments

Filed under Adoption, At Home

2 responses to “animal crackers and adoption

  1. My s-i-l adopted a little boy from Russia last year. There are kids there that get turned out at a certain age (I think it is 16). They told a story of a sweet boy who is 15 and wants to be adopted so badly. My in-laws wanted to adopt him (they are both in their 60’s), but since both of them are German citizens living in the US it is impossible. My husband and I considered it (since I am a US citizen), but we are probably too young to be considered for that age child. It is so sad.

  2. errroughhhh!

    (That is a heart cry.)

    I would fall in love with them, too. I would want them all.

    Still praying for you, Kate.

Leave a Reply

