Menu

Well, my husband finally made his mind up about food for his birthday, and we had

  • goat’s cheese and cranberry sauce filo parcels;  Morrocan lamb stew, couscous;  cheese and crackers; birthday cake.

I spent almost all of Saturday baking and decorating cupcakes to share at Church in the morning, and a birthday cake to have at home.  Fortunately Sunday morning was dry (possibly because we had chosen rain and water themed hymns to go with the “water of life” theme of some of our readings!) – it was tricky enough carrying tray after tray of cakes from the Vicarage to the Church, at least I didn’t have to worry about getting them wet.

Sunday afternoon brought a surprise visit from one of our congregation with a traditional Burmese dish (tamileto – probably not the right spelling, but it sounds like that).  She had made it specially as a present for Simon.  How kind!  And it tasted absolutely delicious.  It has noodles, rice, dried shrimp, fish sauce, cabbage, gram flour, and I don’t know what else, but it sure did taste fantastic.  We ate that on Monday night, with the left over birthday cake for afters. 

  • Last night, Tuesday, we had steak and kidney pudding (suet crust, steamed).  I had only made this once before.  This time I cooked it in the slow cooker (putting in boiling water about two-thirds of the way up the outside of the pudding basin), on high for a good eight hours.  I am relieved to say this worked well.
  • Wednesday – our Korean student is going to a football match tonight so won’t be eating with us.  We will have roast vegetables, couscous, with a mint and garlic yoghurt dressing.
  • Thursday – tomorrow we have another full day on the adoption course, so I’m planning to put a beef stew in the crockpot (I do really love my slow cooker now!).  We will have it with mashed potatoes, cabbage and carrots.  Mandarin flan to follow – I can make that this evening.
  • Friday – salmon, new potatoes, baby veg; rhubarb crumble
  • Saturday – final day of the adoption course – ready made pizza, and salad; cappucino panna cotta (I will make that on Friday evening)
  • Sunday – roast chicken, roast pots, stuffing, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower;  baked cheesecake (I have always made this with white chocolate chips in, this time I plan to try a lemon version)
  • Monday – prawn curry, rice; fruit tart (fruit held down with a gel glaze, on a creme pattisiere bed in a pastry case)
  • Tuesday – lasagne, salad, garlic bread; Tiramisu
4 Comments

Filed under kitchen

4 responses to “Menu

  1. Can I come eat with ya’ll for awhile? Very creative — every time I read your menus I long for the pantry and walk-ins I had available in my restaurant days. Maybe once I get into my house(when that will happen only God knows) I will have the room to do a little entertaining. I do enjoy doing this.
    I had to go to culinary school to get my experience-who taught you?

  2. Great blog, good job getting it all together 🙂

  3. Okay, I’m officially drooling in your comments box!!!!

  4. vicaragekate

    I’m self-taught and eating here can be quite a hit or miss affair! I love eating food, and am always happy to sample new foods – that frequently gives me ideas of what to do or how. I also learn a lot from watching other people cook, so I always try to get into the kitchen when invited round for a meal. I do experiment, and that doesn’t always work too well – and when it does work I often can’t remember quite what I did to recreate it the next time! Planning out a weekly menu is the only successful way I’ve managed of giving us a reasonable variety of food (before I married I lived pretty much on microwaved jacket potato for a year!). Interestingly, I find I enjoy cooking more and more as time goes by.

Leave a Reply

