bargains and love

My weekly supermarket trip was blessed with some good bargains today – reduced mackerel for dinner tonight, and two large reduced joints, one beef (enough for 2 dinners) and one pork (enough for 3 dinners).  I’ve cut up the pork joint into 3, and frozen it in portions, the beef I’ll divide when I cook it as it is OK until the weekend.  That’s our next 5 roast dinners sorted!

Our Korean student has returned from Italy.  He says he had a wonderful time and he now has a girlfriend, a Korean woman he met in Florence (which obviously makes it a really good holiday).  What a romantic place to meet!  She is going to come over to London tomorrow to visit him for the weekend before she returns to Korea.  We will be hosting her, so all our curiosity about her will be sated!  As our student returns to Korea next month the timing is good for both of them.  He is such a nice man, we do hope everything works our well for him.  I am slightly nervous about hosting a girlfriend though, even if only for a weekend. Still, I needed to clear out the spare room anyway!

The menu for the rest of this week is:

tonight:  mackerel, baby potatoes roasted in olive oil, roasted courgettes and peppers with herbs;  strawberries and cream

Thursday:  baked potates, tuna mayo, salad;  stewed rhubarb with ice cream

Friday:  fish pie (assorted fish pieces in a white sauce topped with mashed potato), courgettes, sweetcorn;  apple crumble

Saturday:  homemade pizza;  tiramisu

Sunday:  roast beef, roast pots, Yorkshire pudding, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower;  white chocolate cheesecake with raspberries

Monday:  aubergines stuffed with a lamb mince mixture, rice;  chocolate tart

Tuesday:  prawn korma, okra, rice;  ice cream

Wednesday:  sausages, mash, onion gravy, carrots, broccoli;  apple crumble and custard

Thursday:  beef stew, mash, cauliflower;  fruit tart

5 Comments

Filed under At Home, kitchen, menu

5 responses to “bargains and love

  1. I just love reading through your menus. And how fun to have a new guest for the weekend.
    You sound like a great hostess.
    Hey did you ever have the tea that you put up in the auction at church? I think that was the first post of yours I read. You bought a new tea pot for it I think.
    I don’t know why I thought about that all of a sudden.
    Hope you are having a great week and have gotten over the trauma of the dog incident.
    🙂

  2. vicaragekate

    Thank you for your encouragement! I’ve got a new tea-set, and even got a cake stand, but we still haven’t had the “High tea and croquet” – we are waiting for some more reliable summer weather. I have used the cake stand and tea set a couple of times (the set is a really pretty – pink, white and gold).

  3. Mrs C

    Vicaragekate, do you do all your own baking?

  4. vicaragekate

    I do – I really enjoy making cakes (I tell myself at least I’m working off a couple of those calories I’ll consume when eating them!). I make my own pizza base, but rarely make bread (when I do it is usually with spelt flour). This week I’m experimenting with baking all our own bread, though, I’ll let you know how that goes.

  5. MrsC

    We have a breadmaker, I make bread everyday and have done for about a year now it’s just part of my routine. How did your breadmaking go? I love making cakes in fact I enjoy cooking.

Leave a Reply

