We’re back!

Actually, we got back on Monday evening, but yesterday was mainly taken up with the hairdresser and the supermarket run (not quite sure what happened to the rest of the day).  Today I’m unpacking (yes, I’m slow), typing for Simon, doing several more loads of washing, cleaning what I didn’t clean yesterday (that was actually a good reason for not unpacking – leaving  mounds of stuff lying around covers up a floor that needs hoovering), and getting ready for my women’s Bible study this evening. 

Ireland was lovely – peaceful and beautiful.  The view from the house was even better than the photo I posted, consequently it was a little hard to get motivated to do much while we were there as going out meant leaving our spectacular view.  We were right on the beach front at Waterville, Kerry.  The weather was fantastic for most of the trip, and Simon swam in the sea frequently.  (I did not swim – I was brought up in the east Mediterranean and the water here always looks cold and murky.)  My finger has healed up nicely, and the nurses and doctors (2 of each) who tried to take my stitches out were really nice.  Stitch removal did not go well (hence the number of medical personal involved) and after a couple of hours at the local hospital and a doctors’ surgery they decided that the best course of action was to leave everything alone and hope that eventually my healing finger would expel remaining pieces of suture (all is now clear, thanks to a combination of time and a good pair of tweezers at the weekend.  I am still banned from anything sharp).  Deeply shaky when released, I found comfort in painkillers and most of a bar of chocolate.
Chocolate is part of the reason that I am officially just overweight.  I weighed myself at the pharmacy yesterday at a brand new height-weight-fat percentage machine, and I have put on a bit of weight over the last couple of months (I am officially 30% fat, a fact I am fascinated to find out, and am interested to see if this will change much over the summer.)  We had already decided that due to my husband’s weight gain we would try the “three day diet” this week, when that is over we will simply be trying to eat in a healthy, balanced, moderate way.  The 3 day diet has been successful for my husband in the past, and also for me the first time I did it but not subsequently.  The promise to lose 10 lbs in 3 days is one I have always regarded with deep scepticism, the most I have lost is 4 (and kept it off for a long time), 7 for my husband.  Anyhow, our menu (each)for the next three days (no varying, no substituting, salt and pepper allowed but no other seasoning) is:
  1. breakfast:  black tea/ coffee, 1/2 grapefruit, slice dry toast, 1/2 tin baked beans    lunch: 4 oz tuna, slice dry toast, black tea/coffee   dinner: 2 slices any cold meat, 4 oz string beans, 4 oz beetroot, 1 small apple, 4 oz vanilla ice cream
  2. breakfast:  black tea/coffee, 1/2 banana, slice dry toast, poached egg   lunch:  black tea/coffee,  4 oz cottage cheese, 5 saltine crackers (ritz/ tuc)   dinner:  2 slices any cold meat, 4 oz brocolli, 2 oz carrots, 1/2 banana, 4 oz vanilla ice cream
  3. breakfast:  black tea/coffee, 1 slice cheddar cheese, 1 small apple, 5 saltine crackers   lunch: 1 poached egg, slice dry toast, black tea/coffee   dinner:  4 oz tuna, 4 oz beetroot, 4 oz cauliflower, 1/2 small honeydew melon, 4 oz vanilla ice cream
1 Comment

Filed under Health, menu, out and about

One response to “We’re back!

  1. Very interesting. I have never heard of this diet. And ten pounds in three days sounds awesome. Wonder how well it would work after three days.
    I can’t imagine it is just water loss–the food is still pretty reduced.
    Is beetroot just beets?
    And I have never seen a diet that let you have ice cream–how fun.
    Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

