Happy 4th of July!

Okay, so it seems deeply strange to congratulate a former colony on gaining independence, but since it seems to be fashionable these days, on this side of the Atlantic, to scorn the US and Americans I thought I would share a few things that I admire (envy!) about the States.

  • coupons – money-off coupons barely exist over here
  • chocolate fudge brownies – whoever dreamt these up deserves a sainthood.  Chocolate brownies caused me much confusion when I was first introduced to them as in Britain a brownie is a junior member of the Girl Guides (Scouting movement).
  • Thanksgiving – what’s not to like about a holiday where you just eat and are thankful?
  • garbage disposal – these are so rare here that most people have never seen one.  Mind you, if I had one I would probably be terrified of using it, after all I managed to cut my thumb just brushing my teeth yesterday!
3 Comments

Filed under Humble musings

3 responses to “Happy 4th of July!

  1. Hi, I just stumbled across your blog and love it 🙂

    Being American myself (and yes, I do feel obliged to apologize for that, lol) I couldn’t help but comment on this one post … there are a number of things I can’t stand about my beloved country – but the things on your list are all things I am constantly grateful for (especially the brownies and the garbage disposal). My disposal broke down last week, and life without it is increasingly unbearable (must get to the hardware store soon!), and I’m actually planning on baking up a batch of brownies later this afternoon.

    Anyway, just wanted to say hi 🙂

  2. vicaragekate

    thank you for stopping by, LuluBunny – it is good to meet you!

  3. towles

    Hello –

    Another American stumbling along the wordpress waves … Your blog is delightful!

    Thanks for cutting the U.S.A. a little slack on its birthday. It’s a shame our current leadership has claimed so much of our cultural identity lately, but you’re right that we still have a good many things to celebrate. Maybe I’ll make some brownies tonight …

    Best to you,

    Towles

Leave a Reply

