BooMama’s Christmas tour

bloggy-christmas-tour.jpg

Boomama has come up with a brilliant idea:  a tour round our Christmas decorations at home.  Perfect for a nosey person like me who loves to look round other people’s houses and enjoys looking in through lit windows when people leave their curtains open. So here is a peek into my home. 

But first, have a mince pie and a glass of non-alcoholic mulled drink:

mince-pies.jpgmulled-wine.jpg

Ready?

christmas-day.jpg  This is Christmas day last year (complete with a joyful husband coming in from Church – I’d beaten him home as usual). I’ve got holly (as well as a pot plant) on the ledge above the door.  As you can see I blu-tack Christmas cards we’ve received to the banisters – I also fix them to the interior doors.  This decorates the whole house and enables us to see each card we’ve received clearly.  I put the prettier ones downstairs, and usually have a star or angel one at the top of each door with a nativity scene next.  Ones with a food theme (quite unusual recently) go in the dining room!

christmas-tree.jpg The Christmas tree is mainly decorated with olive wood decorations I bought in Bethlehem and Jerusalem, and some more colourful decorations I bought in a trip to German Christmas markets when I was still a student.  I also have clear fairy lights on the tree – I love looking at the tree in the dark with just the tree lights on.  The table to the right has the nativity scene on it.  Usually I have a tealight burning in a star shaped olive-wood holder in front of it (when we are in the room only, of course, for safety reasons), but this time an additional large red candle has sneaked in on the act (probably a Christmas present).

christmas-fireplace.jpg I love having an open fire – and it also means I have a mantelpiece to decorate!  I dried some orange slices to go in these small arrangements, I’ve also got a couple of clove-studded oranges sitting there.  Little sprigs of holly get balanced at the top of pictures etc. on the walls.

The photos aren’t actually from this year as we haven’t got any decorations up yet, but things will look pretty much the same this year.  I am in favour of leaving Christmas decorating ’til just before Christmas in order to keep both Advent and Christmas special and to stop them from running into each other too much.  The third Sunday in Advent (yesterday) is the day I would usually pick to put up the tree while leaving most of the rest of the decorating until the 23rd or 24th.  There is a practical side to this, too – greenery brought in too early tends to start dropping leaves and drying off.  Well, that is what would happen in a home with normal temperatures, but the arctic conditions in our living room will probably put everything into a form of suspended animation.  Anyhow, we still haven’t bought our tree yet (and yes I had hoped to have it by now, and yes I am worried that they will sell out, and yes I am nagging my husband about it) but I am hoping that tomorrow will be the day.   

Here is the recipe for the non-alcoholic mulled drink (it went down a treat with my ladies’ Bible study group who were the first to sample it):

ginger beer, cranberry** juice, orange juice

combine in proportions to suit your own taste, add several cloves and some orange peel and heat gently.  This really benefits from an hour or so sat in a thermos flask with the cloves and peel left in. 

**those taking Warfarin should not consume cranberry products.

17 Comments

Filed under At Home

17 responses to “BooMama’s Christmas tour

  1. Thanks for sharing your festive home. And the recipe.

    Mine’s posted. I have two versions.

    A thumbnail short version
    and
    a
    slide show long version.

  2. Ellen

    Thank you for the tour. I hope you get your tree today! Blessings…

  3. slgb65

    How fun!
    I loved coming into your home. Nice to now I don’t have to try peeking in the windows anymore. 🙂 Ha! Ha!
    That would be a pretty amazing thing all the way from the states.
    Loved your pictures—and it is time to put your decorations UP!
    I’ll have to go and take a peek into some of the other homes.
    Thanks for the recipe!

  4. I loved hearing about your traditions. Advent is a very special time.

    Merry Christmas,

    Andrea

  5. beautifulheritage

    How beautiful! Loved the tour…thank you for sharing!

  6. The olive wood decorations are so special. A friend brought one to me a few years ago and it hangs in a special place high on the tree. Your mince pies look beautiful and the mulled drink sounds delicious. Merry Christmas.
    Holley

  7. It’s cold in my house and your mulled cider would be perfect! Thanks for the tour and Merry Christmas!

  8. I am so happy that I found your blog through Sophie’s Home tour. Thank you for the tour, I so enjoyed seeing your Christmas decorations and reading your post. Merry Christmas, Karen

  9. Kathy B

    I loved your open hearth. Our city just began a program of no burn days. I miss my fires. I enjoyed reading about your life and your Christmas home.

  10. I love your fireplace!!!

  11. Merry Christmas! Thanks for sharing your home.

  12. Thanks for invitin’ us in and sharing your recipie! Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  13. janmary

    Lovely tour. We have a star – but then, we are Methodists!

    Merry Christmas to you and yours from Northern Ireland.

  14. BJ

    We go back and forth between a star and an angel. We are protestant/non-denominational. We just love Jesus, and enjoy having a birthday party for Him every year. Merry Christmas.

  15. Christmas decorations from Bethlehem/Jerusalem? That is so cool! Thanks for sharing your home with us.

  16. Love the decorations. Thanks for sharing. Merry Christmas to you & yours!

    Jennifer 🙂

Leave a Reply

