Daily Archives: December 19, 2007

***for the BooMama Christmas tour please scroll down***

Leave a comment

Filed under Vicarage life

the Christmas trees have arrived

It is with huge relief that I can report that we now have a Christmas tree in our home, together with three in the Church.  And not only do we now have these trees, but we actually have them upright in stands!  I did try telling my husband that putting up the trees was definitely a two man job, but he pointed out that he didn’t have another one of those around at the moment.  Apparently I am quite useful really.  And available.  My back does ache, though.

We managed to buy the trees yesterday afternoon.  We walked down the road to where someone had been selling them for the past fortnight, only to find that they had obviously sold out and shut up shop.  So we tried the garden centre where we bought them last year.  The guy acted shocked that we had left it so late and showed us his two remaining trees.  He took pity on us when he discovered that we were buying for a church and cut us a deal on two of his three display trees.  With those two and the last two in the shop we had our quota of one for the house and three for church.  So we were happy to get the trees (and they are nice ones), and he was happy to be making extra money selling his display.  We now have a note in the diary to order the trees from there at the beginning of November.

I was at the doctor’s when the trees actually arrived.  When I saw our one I was sure we had one of the two from the display – they are the same height so need to be the two either side of the altar in church.  I lay down on the floor next to the tree to prove it was too tall to be ours and must belong in the church.  (we do have a tape measure but we would have to find it first and I was right there).  So Simon and I carried that tree back to church, where we discovered that the height difference was not what we thought.  Still convinced that we had picked up the wrong tree, we carried one of the others round here.  Putting the church ones in stands this lunchtime I realised that the trunk on one was too wide to fit in a stand, but would fit in our bucket-of-gravel (so fetching) at home.  So back to the house came that tree and back to the church went the one from the house – this time with my husband mumbling something about how he was done carrying Christmas trees around, and something else about having three sermons to write.  Anyhow, all four are now upright in the right locations.  I had to saw off some lower branches on our one which means I have plenty of greenery to decorate the house with.  Of course, the living room and hallway are already liberally strewn with pine needles after all the tree moving.  Hmm, maybe I can convince everyone that it is under-foot decorating and thus not bother hoovering them up. . .   No, thought not!

2 Comments

Filed under Vicarage life

I saw my doctor yesterday afternoon, and he is intrigued by my ultrasound result.  It is only 3 years since I had a laparoscopy, and the doc thinks it is not much time for endometriosis to develop in and so thinks that it might have been missed when the infertility investigations were done.  On the other hand, as I was complaining of very heavy periods rather than pain, he thinks that this may not be an endometriomal cyst as diagnosed – either that or I have quite a high pain threshold!  He seemed quietly bemused and has booked me in to see a gynaecologist at the hospital on 23 January.  Curiously, the diagnosis of endometrioma on the ovary is exactly what I thought I might have 5 years ago. . .

Leave a comment

Filed under Health