I have just come back from a visit to the “Golden Age of Couture: 1947-57” exhibition at the Victoria and Albert Museum.  It was packed with people, and took us almost 4 hours to go round.  Having spent so long gazing at fabulous gowns and images of ladies in full 1950s glamour I feel quite shabby!  I am also much more aware of my posture – good posture and elegance go hand in hand.  I am also very grateful for our more comfortable fashions today – some of the frocks on show were not remotely practical (for example, in some of the cocktail dresses you could not sit down).  A film of one of Dior’s models being dressed showed her being corsetted tightly to produce a tiny waist and then having padding attached to her shoulders and hips.  Quite daft, I felt.  On the other hand, a corset would compensate for my Christmas over-eating, and would ensure a straighter back!

2 Comments

Filed under out and about

2 responses to “

  1. slgb65

    You get to go to such fun sounding events. I wish you would take your camera and give us a tour.

    I am glad you had a great time. I have often thought of the beauty of the dress in days gone by. But I don’t think I want the fainting spells from not being able to breath or having to take tiny steps just to be able to walk.
    But they were romantic times.

  2. slgb65

    A little something for you on my site!

Leave a Reply

