I’m now equipped with a new iron, and another load of washing is going round in the machine.  Sadly the iron wasn’t in the sales, but for the money I’d allocated I managed to get a better one than the one I’ve just said goodbye to.  Using a borrowed one made me realise just how used one gets to a certain weight and size in an iron – I’ll have to do quite a bit of ironing to get used to the change!  Maybe I’ll even iron the towels – but only if there is something good to watch on TV!

The Great Study Clear-Up went well yesterday afternoon and Simon and I feel much better when we walk into the room.  It is clear now, however, that this is a job that needs more than one afternoon – we are still only part way round.  We have been very brave and have gone through the study bookshelves and ear-marked some three dozen or so books to get rid of.  I need to explore the possibility of selling these on e-bay or perhaps to a secondhand bookstore somewhere in London.

We have friends visiting from the south coast later this afternoon on the way to pick up a guest from the airport.  In order to make sure everyone gets fed we are going to have a light dinner at teatime.  On the menu is leek and potato soup (currently in the slow cooker), fresh bread, and pancakes.  Having caught up with each other we are then hoping to introduce them to our new board game “settlers of Catan”.  We played it three times while my mother was visiting and were hooked!

4 Comments

Filed under At Home

4 responses to “

  1. Sounds like fun! I love board games. But I hate ironing. As a matter of fact, if my iron died a tragic death, I would simply bury it and assume that it was God’s will for me to be wrinkled.

  2. mrsc

    I googled ‘settlers of catan’, really liked the look of it so I have ordered it.
    Hope you and your new iron become good friends, a good dvd always helps

  3. vicaragekate

    Mrs C – I hope you enjoy “settlers of catan” as much as we have! As well as being a great game it is beautifully illustrated – an extra pleasure!

  4. I have heard good things about that game! Someday I will have to check it out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

