I have now seen a gynaecologist (who was really nice) about the cyst (probable endometrioma) on my left ovary.  She feels the cyst needs to be removed and she is referring me on to another department (the wonderfully named “cyst clinic”) to talk about that.  I’m now waiting for an appointment to come through. 

Curiously, this is exactly what I thought was wrong with me some six years ago, but tests never found anything wrong. 

The gynaecologist also prescribed some medication (mefenamic acid and tranexamic acid) that might cut down my extremely heavy menstrual bleeding.  I’ve already managed to try it out and I’m delighted and relieved to report that it seems to be a success – I’ll need to give it a couple more months to be certain that it is the drugs rather than just a fluke, however.  I’ve spent the last couple of years sure that the heavy bleeding and clotting wasn’t normal but thinking that there was very little, if anything, that could be done and that I just needed to put up with it.  It is wonderful to be given something that will help and will not interfere with fertility. 

2 Comments

Filed under Health

2 responses to “

  1. Glad you are getting some answers.

  2. So I take it that you cysts do not come and go with your cycle.
    I am glad they are going to be able to help. And how great that the meds are helping with your cycle. I dealt with that for years– I know.

Leave a Reply

