menu-plan-monday-new.jpg

I’m finally back to some proper forward planning on the menu front.  Here is the menu for the next fortnight  (yup, I’ve planned it out for a whole fortnight and the food is in house already.  It is such a good feeling, being organised.  If I need to make last minute changes to plans then I still can, otherwise I actually know what I’m doing)

  • Sunday (10th)  – ham, mashed potatoes, cabbage, carrots;  apple crumble and custard
  • Monday – turkey fajitas (with the last of the Christmas turkey);  apple crumble and custard (leftovers)
  • Tuesday – haggis, neeps and tatties (that is haggis with swede and potatoes for the non-Scots);  raspberries and ice cream
  • Wednesday – goat’s cheese and spinach tortelloni with pesto;  panna cotta
  • Thursday – sausages and mash, cabbage, cauliflower
  • Friday – fish pizza
  • Saturday –  bean chili and rice
  • Sunday  (17th)- roast beef, Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes, carrots, cauliflower;  baked lemon and sultana cheesecake
  • Monday – Swedish meatballs, potatoes, creamy pepper sauce, lingonberry sauce
  • Tuesday – mushroom stroganoff and rice
  • Wednesday – pasta with tomato and tuna sauce
  • Thursday –  pork in an apple and mushroom sauce, potatoes, carrots
  • Friday – fish soup
  • Saturday – prawn and cauliflower korma, rice
  • Sunday  (24th) – slow-cooked lamb, olive oil roast potatoes, green beans

Lunch today was smoked mackerel paté,  lunches for the rest of the fortnight will be lentil soups, vegetable soup, sardines on toast, and perhaps potato and chickpea curry.  We tend not to have leftovers, and when we do I usually freeze them in single meal portions for a home-made ready meal.

Puddings are an area I have a problem with.  Both Simon and my father-in-law feel a meal isn’t complete without something sweet at the end.  I need to work on some more pudding recipes.  My stand-bys tend to be fruit crumbles, tiramisu (which is so high in calories I only make it when we have company), rhubarb and custard, or fruit in jelly.  Pancakes are another favorite, and my father-in-law loves them so I usually make them once a week.  I’ve got some ice-cream in the freezer for when I really can’t think of anything else for pudding.

Wow!  It feels much better knowing what I am cooking and when.  A little time spent planning the menu over a cup of tea now will make for a more efficient fortnight in the kitchen. . .

3 Comments

Filed under menu

3 responses to “

  1. Your menu looks wonderful! It is a great feeling to have that set up and to know that you know what you are making – huge stress saver at the end of the day!

    I would love to see some of the recipes of the items above. Some of them look so interesting. How do you make the sardines on toast? I never thought of doing that and sounds like it would be quick, easy and nutritious too!

    I made fish soup one time…one time! I was heading out to a ladies get together and made the soup for Blaine and the children to have while I was away. Everyone ended up going to McDonald’s for dinner that night!!! ~smiling~ It is hard to find fresh fish here besides catfish and that is during the spring and is usually fried along with frog legs. Living in Florida for so long spoiled me.

    Love and God’s Blessings,
    Cat

  2. vicaragekate

    You’ll probably be really disappointed to hear that sardines on toast is tinned sardines mashed up a little (the ones in tomato sauce are perfect) and spread on toast. This tastes best if you can then heat the sardine-topped toast under the grill. Quick and easy, and a great source of good fish oils and calcium (because of all those little bones!).

  3. No…that is great and so easy! I love it! I think I will be the only one to try it in my house but thats okay! I have not seen the sardines in tomato sauce only oil but will keep my eyes open.

    Thank you! :O)

    xo Cat

Leave a Reply

