doctors, dentists, waiting rooms

In the last two days I’ve had one appoinment with the doctor, and two with the dentist. 

The doctor won the competition to see who could run the latest by seeing me an hour late, almost doubling the dentist’s wait time.  On the plus side, I’ve had a wonderful opportunity to read through some out of date magazines (did you know Prince Charles and Princess Diana are getting divorced?).  Actually I do enjoy reading through copies of Reader’s Digest at the doctor’s, in fact I enjoy it a bit too much – I’m the only person who sits in the waiting room hooting with laughter.

I returned from the dentist yesterday afternoon with shakey knees and a cleaner, albeit bloody, smile, and feeling very relieved.  I’d guessed I had a broken filling a while ago.  Several months ago, to be honest.  My previous dentist (who was recommended to me – I’m wondering if that wasn’t some cruel practical joke) was so sadistic and expensive that I knew I had to find another one, and, frankly, I was a bit too traumatised to rush to do that.  I finally turned to the NHS (National Health Service) website last week and through that found a dentist to take me on as a fee-paying NHS patient.*  She turned out to be very nice, she has repaired my broken filling, de-scaled me (!), and given me a clean bill of oral health.  I go back in six months.  In the meantime I need to persuade Simon to make an appointment. . .

*For those living outside the UK:  care on the NHS is “free for all, and free at the point of delivery” (we pay a set charge for prescribed medications currently £6-85).  However, optical care was removed from this system for all except the poorest and children, and although dental care is still, theoretically, within the system, in practice it is very difficult to find a dentist within the scheme.  Children and and those on certain benefits get free treatment, the rest of us, if we can find a dentist to take us on, pay a limited amount (currently:  £15-50 for a check-up, £43-60 for a check-up and one or more fillings, and about £194 for more extensive work.  My last private check-up was £50 so this makes a huge difference to those of us on tight budget).  Most dentists have gone private – it is easier and more lucrative.  Moving around frequently with the church has meant I’ve had to go private in the past.

5 Comments

Filed under Health, out and about

5 responses to “doctors, dentists, waiting rooms

  1. We don’t have that here as of yet. I think the push is more over to insurance companies than it is for health care in general and even with that…you are not guaranteed that they will pay for a procedure. Insurance companies make a killing here and many people are starting to go without and just paying out of pocket but to find someone who will take you in (without having insurance) is very difficult.

    It sounds like you have found a great dentist. I have had my fair share of dentists that it has made me very wary!!!

    I’m giggling over your discovery of Prince Charles and Princess Diana! That is most definitely big news! ;O) It can be interesting the different types of magazines one finds in the waiting rooms. Some of them I have never seen or heard of before. It does make for interesting reading material!

    I meant to ask you…how did the model train expo go the other day? :O)

    I hope y’all have a wonderful weekend!

    xo Cat

  2. I hate going to the dentist–but it is something that has to be done. We pay an arm and a leg to visit a dentist. All insurance here is horrible.
    We do have a system for those who are financially challenged. After pay all of our insurances each month we are financially challenged. 😉

    I always think it is interesting to see what is going on in the magazines while I am in the waiting room. It is crazy out there!

  3. vicaragekate

    I’m so glad to have found this dentist – I can’t believe that something I’ve been putting off for a year I’ve manage to get dealt with within the week!
    The model train show was a success – enjoyed by a lot of boys of all ages. Not a great fund-raiser for the Church, however, and I’m sceptical that it will actually bring more people into the Church family (in fact, some of those who helped on the Saturday didn’t come to Church on the Sunday because they were too tired). If it had been doll’s houses I might be more enthusiastic!

  4. Wellness, health, aching, confidence and good health all are related to good mouth hygiene. Visit your dental professional often and many aches and pains can be relieved. Smiles will always win over a frown and making a great smile to others will win you over always. Your health is important to all that matters in life and smiling is a big part of it. A constant reader of health articles and remedies are part of my weekly habit and your blog, message and articles help all in participating in wellness habits. Let all smile and take care of your dental hygiene. Thanks.

    smile makeovers

  5. Being on the other side I’d love to tell you that it’s all due to emergencies and the like, but waiting is oftern poor organization. I think the UK and Canadian systems would do better with a hard look at efficiency in the primary care setting. Both for the patient and doctors sake. http://www.waittimes.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

