roadworks.jpg

This is the view outside our home at the moment  (the bricks down to the kerb on the left mark our driveway).  We don’t actually know what is going on (why would the council want to inform residents?!), but it is making backing off the driveway a lot easier for me!  There is a barricade and a “road closed” sign just before the house and Simon and I feel just a little special when we drive past them to get to our home!  Sad, I know!

Our dishwasher has broken down – this is terribly distressing.  I love having a dishwasher, I can’t believe I was ever against getting one (we never had one when I was working).  I suspect it is the heating element that has died as the machine is still running but everything is staying cold (and other than being rinsed thoroughly in cold water is not much cleaner).  I’m trying to find out if it is worth getting it fixed or whether it will cost as much to replace the machine.  As it is only 20 months old, I feel there is an element of built in obsolescence here.

On Friday, three and a half weeks after I saw the gynaecologist, I finally received a letter from the hospital.  Not with a date for an appointment at the “cyst clinic”, but with a request that I ring their central booking system to make an appointment.  So I spent the day trying to ring.  Most of the day the recorded message said they were “experiencing a high volume of calls. . .”, and an hour before closing time it changed to permanently engaged.  The recorded message suggested emailing as an option, and in the end I did that.  Which means, of course, that I still don’t know when I might get seen.  It is a strange system.  Basically, they want proof I am still alive and interested in treatment before they book me an appointment.  In the meantime I am actually in pain (in fairness I wasn’t before).  Even with the new medication for me period things were so bad this weekend that I didn’t get to Church on Sunday.  Being “too unwell” to go to church makes me feel like a terrible wimp, I mean, I live next door, it is not as if there is travelling involved.  I actually slept through a large amount of Sunday – definitely a relief for the rest of the household as my mood when awake left a lot to be desired.  I did manage to cook dinner, which is more than I did on Saturday as Simon kindly decided to intervene (not sure whether that was to protect me or his stomach!). 

4 Comments

Filed under At Home

4 responses to “

  1. I had to giggle at the city not informing you about the road being closed. Where we live, we frequently find out about a “water boil advisory” but a week later when it is posted in our local weekly paper! Being in a small town it is understandable but you would think that they would employ a better system in letting people know. Enjoy your new private driveway! ;o)

    With your dishwasher…I honestly believe that they make things now to break or fall apart right after the warranty expires.

    I am so sorry to hear about you having some pain. I am not sure of all the details but will keep you in my prayers. We are not big fans of doctors and such. So many of them here have been bought and sold by the pharmaceutical companies. Prescribed drugs are given out like candy before they are really ever tested and the doctors are given compensation for doling them out. Our trust in the FDA (Food and Drug Administration here in the states) is no longer there. They too are in it for the profit. So…what we do is a lot of natural alternatives and homeopathy. Maybe this is something more available to you being in London. Years ago, I had considered taking classes there for homeopathy. In the states it is not so easy and I have had to do a lot of self study.

    Well…I have certainly rambled on. I do hope you start feeling better. Thank you for the picture above…I loved it!

    Love and God’s Blessings,
    Cat

  2. Me again! I had to share with you that Sarah, my 13 yo daughter, and I made your recipe today.

    I mashed up the sardines and placed on bread, added some parmesan cheese and placed under the broiler for our lunch today. Sarah added a bit of salsa to hers and we both thought it tasted rather good! Thank you for sharing that. What a great way to get that into your diet!

    xo Cat

  3. Oh, I hope you get an appointment soon and that the pain goes away.

    It is the little things in life that should make us happy. The beauty of the everyday. So pretend you are the queen going beyond the barriers:-).

  4. vicaragekate

    Practicing my regal wave . . .

Leave a Reply

