new curtains

  Well, actually that should be just the one new curtain.  There it is, on the left, the first curtain I have ever made.  I only bought the fabric in January.  I have been nervous about making these curtains (they are for the two windows in our bedroom) and consequently have been putting off this task for the last four months.  I grew to hate this fabric, and regretted having bought it.  Now I’ve got one curtain made and up I really like it!  Very importantly, so does Simon.  We also like the way the light shining through takes on a greenish tinge – our pale green walls look more summery.  One curtain down (or up rather), three more to go til I have a full set.  Better get back to that sewing machine then.

3 Comments

Filed under At Home

3 responses to “new curtains

  1. Way to go!
    I took a sewing lesson in high school and could not handle it. I think it was the whole following the pattern thing.
    But it can be a real creative outlet if you know what you are doing.
    When I was little Mom made all my clothes–wish I could have done the same for Julia. Guess she will just have to appreciate my cooking instead. 😉

  2. Wow that is hard work. I made curtains for the bathroom in our first ever house when we married – I’m not domestically gifted but they were ok. Since then I make do or hunt things down in charity shops – even looking at the prices in places like John Lewis is enough to make me pass out!

  3. vicaragekate

    I actually have two curtains up now – a complete pair! (just two more to make). My mother used to make all my skirts (and her own) when I was in my early/mid teens – I absolutely hated them!

Leave a Reply

