I went to see my doctor yesterday to tell him I am pregnant (I booked this appointment three weeks ago, this was the earliest I could see him!).  This is the same doctor who did the medical reports for us for the adoption agency.  He was so nice and so happy for us that I am expecting.  He decided I had better go to the hospital for a scan straight away to check everything was alright.  He sent me straight down to our local hospital (only a 20 minute walk from the house) with a letter for the gynae unit, and told me to come back to him in the afternoon.  I called into home on the way past to tell Simon what had happened and that all our plans for his day off had been changed.  He came with me, both of us with books and snacks expecting a very long wait, and I was scanned almost immediately.  Everything is fine – one baby, in the right place, developing in line with a due date of 30 Jan., and a heartbeat that we could see on the screen.  It was astounding to see that heart beat flickering on the screen, especially knowing it is still so early and the heart is really so very tiny.  Not exactly the trip out we had planned for Simon’s day off, but so very moving and special.  We celebrated by playing Scrabble and going out for an Indian meal.

4 Comments

Filed under Vicarage life

4 responses to “

  1. It is always so wonderful to see the heartbeat. Isn’t it amazing how the baby develops and how God made these things work? Definitely worth celebrating. And I wish I could play Scrabble with you. Unfortunately Markus doesn’t like any board games except Chess and my chess skills leave much to be desired.

  2. Cat

    I am so very very excited for you both! Enjoy every single part of this. It is such a beautiful experience.

    When I had my first one (23 years ago) sonograms were just really being used but the mom’s were not allowed to see the screen which was very small.

    Love and God’s Blessings,
    Cat

  3. Kate…that is wonderful!
    I remember the first time I saw and heard the heart beat of my son-a wonderful experience.
    I am glad that you have gotten into the doctor and that he was able to confirm the pregnancy and tell you that all was well.
    What a gift from God.

  4. vicaragekate

    Thank you all for your kind words. It is all so amazing – I can hardly believe how much the baby grows and develops each week. God is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

