My first favourite hymn

As I’ve mentioned before I was not brought up in a believing home.  My mother did sometimes sing the hymn adapted from John Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress

“He who would valiant be

‘gainst all disaster . . .”

It had been her school song, and became the first hymn I knew and still one of my favourites.

One of our hymns at Church this Sunday took me straight back to then I was 11, and the first hymn I fell in love with:

We were staying with my father’s mother in Scotland, my first visit to the UK since we’d moved to Turkish Cyprus when I was six.  Grannie was the only practising Christian in the whole family on either side, a little woman of great energy and determination, and with long, curly, grey hair that was a source of fascination to me and that she always wore up in a bun.  I went to Church with her on Sunday, Grannie clutching her hymn book with the music printed in it, and fell in love with the final hymn:

 “Thy hand, O God, has guided,

   thy flock from age to age. . .”

I particularly loved the final line of each verse:

“One church, one faith, one Lord.”

I was, doubtless, a strange child, and what drew me to this hymn in particular I cannot tell, but it continues to have a very dear place in my heart.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Humble musings, Vicarage life

2 responses to “My first favourite hymn

  1. What a wonderful memory to have! I love the old hymns. The one I walked into for our wedding was “The Sands of Time are Sinking” by Samuel Rutherford.
    “The bride eyes not her garments but her dear bridegrooms face. I will not gaze at glory but one my King of grace. Not at the crown He giveth, but on His pierc-ed hand. The Lamb is all the glory of Immanuel’s Land.”

  2. I love this memory. It is neat what God gives us to start preparing our hearts for Him.
    I have memories of my mom’s mother playing the piano at church. Her hair done just so and dressed so that she matched-dress,shoes and purse.
    I grew up in the church and so songs like The Old Rugged Cross, To God Be The Glory were ones I remember well. The last was probably my favorite for a long time. But now I love—In The Garden. Here is a little of it.

    I come to the garden alone,
    While the dew is still on the roses;
    And the voice I hear, falling on my ear,
    The Son of God discloses.

    Chorus

    And He walks with me, And He talks with me,
    And He tells me I am His own;
    And the joy we share as we tarry there,
    None other has ever known.

Leave a Reply

