Turns out the medication change really didn’t work for me.  I was in bed lying flat for over a week (even sitting up in bed was too much), vomiting round the clock, dizziness (yes, even lying down). . . I won’t bore you with all the side effects I suffered, suffice it to say that a glance at the list of possible side effects reveals that barring convulsions, tremors, hallucinations, and altered –ahem- bedroom responses I had every one on the list.  (All this from the medication considered safer for me to be on [i.e. for the baby’s sake] in the second half of pregnancy)  My husband got me an emergency appointment with our GP on Monday and he advised discontinuing the medication immediately.  And boy am I feeling better!  48 hours from my last dose I feel like a completely different person, the side effects are fading and the withdrawal symptoms (yup, ironically I’m getting those, too) are nothing compared to what I was going through last week.  I’m seeing the midwife at lunch time for a check up in that department.  I can’t help but worry whether this will have had an effect on the baby, my doctor listened to the heartbeat on Monday – to everyone’s relief this was normal.  I’m having a scan on Friday.

I certainly need to be feeling better as my husband is having a biopsy on a lesion on his shin this afternoon – I need to be able to drive him back from hospital (thankfully I am now well enough for that).  The suspicion is that he has a very slow growing cancer on his shin – they have reassured us that it is very slow growing (something that is quite clear to us, too, as it has barely changed in the 2+ years I’ve been aware of it), and that treatment would consist solely of excising it.  We don’t know how soon we will get the biopsy results, but I am so grateful that this is being taken seriously and checked out properly.  As I said, I’ve been aware of it for over 2 years – at first I thought maybe it was a bite on a freckle, it has had the look of something that wasn’t quite right without being obviously wrong.  Finally, I managed to convince Simon to point it out to the nurse at a blood pressure check, she sent him to the doctor for both his blood pressure and the “thing”, and he promptly referred him to a dermatologist.  Dermatologist brought in a colleague for a second opinion, and three short weeks later here we are.

As if all this weren’t enough for one week, yesterday was the funeral of Simon’s birth father.  It was a manageable couple of hours car journey from here and Simon wanted to go.  I was determined to go with him to support him and thankfully as the day progressed I got stronger.  It was a deeply strange situation.  Simon’s birth father was married to someone else with whom he had three children while having an affair with Simon’s birth mother.  The affair resulted in two living children, Simon being the younger, who were fostered at birth into different families, then later adopted by their foster families.  Simon and his brother both grew up without knowing of the other’s existence.  All five of the children are very close in age.  Many years later, after a divorce, Simon’s birth father married his birth mother.  Simon and his brother had both only met one of their half-siblings.  Other than Simon’s birth brother I had never met any of the birth relatives including his mother and father.  Simon’s birth brother travelled from abroad to attend the funeral.  It was a strangely surreal experience.  I was sitting in the church thinking how weird it was that I am carrying in my womb the grandchild of the man in the coffin whom I had never met and whose photo I was seeing for the first time.  After the funeral I met Simon’s birth mother for the first time (very ill and weak, she is in a nursing home and now we know where she is Simon has plans to visit her).  We also got to meet the half-brothers and sisters, the birth father’s legitimate family.  They were warm, welcoming and curious – nothing like the reception we’d imagined – and we all went out together to get to know each other.  They’d grown up knowing their father was having an affair – you can imagine the damage and pain that was caused.  In many ways Simon’s childhood was happier and more stable than theirs.  It was a fascinating and strange afternoon.  One of the astounding facts I learnt about my husband’s birth family was that his birth father’s mother was born and brought up just down the road from where we are now living!

Well, that was a huge long update, and I’m hoping the rest of the week will be quiet.  More holiday photos of the Outer Hebrides coming soon. . .

4 Comments

Filed under Adoption, Health, out and about

4 responses to “

  1. Holly

    Wow! That is indeed a full week.

    I hope that you continue to feel better – will be praying for you and Simon and the baby.

    What an interesting family time you have had!

  2. Yuck! What an awful thing to go through. I am glad that you are off of it now and feeling better.
    God moves in mysterious ways, doesn’t He. I hope Simon and you can get to know this new found family better.

  3. I am glad that I stopped by because my program did not even show me you had updated.
    I am glad you are doing better now that you are off the medicine you were on. I do hope that the doctors will be able to help you and I am soooo that the baby is doing fine.
    Keith has had a few skin cancers removed…it was not a big deal. Hope all goes well in this area.

    I am so sorry about your husbands Dad. How horrible. But I am glad ya’ll got to meet the rest of the family…and he his Mom. I am sure it had to be a very strange situation. I hope this filled in some missing pieces for your husband.
    Keith’s Mom passes while I was pregnant with our first. I remember thinking while we were at the funeral that I wish she had known….she would have been so pleased.
    I do hope that you are getting plenty of rest…..let us know how the midwife visit goes.
    Take it easy.

  4. vicaragekate

    Thank you all for your support and prayers – it means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

