Midwife and scan

My appointment with the midwife, and the scan both went well – the baby appears to be healthy and doing well.  My iron (haemoglobin)  level is under what it should be (10.8 instead of between 12 and 16), and I’ve been given some heavy duty iron supplements to help with that.  This level is from the blood test taken just before the medication change and the 10 days I spent vomiting round the clock, so I’d imagine my levels are slightly worse than they were before!  I’m curious that they are so low since I’d increased our red meat intake and I had also been taking a basic pregnancy supplement.  All this is especially interesting when you recall that according to the World Health Organization no western woman should need iron supplements (according to them we are abundantly supplied through our diet) – I was sceptical when I first heard that, and even more so now.

By the way, we are having a girl!  Simon wasn’t as keen to find out as I was – I really didn’t want to wait until birth to know.  Now we can have some more focussed discussions on names, and I can decorate the baby’s room.  I’m going to start with a shopping trip for curtain fabric – I’ll then plan the room decor round that.  (yes, the baby will be sleeping in our room for the first 6 months, but I still want a dedicated room decorated and ready).

I am so bowled over by God’s gracious love and generosity to us!

4 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy

4 responses to “Midwife and scan

  1. I am so happy for you! What fun you will have shopping for this little one….and I would imagine that your church would have a baby shower for you.
    I did not know what I was having with my first….and it is funny but we had not picked out any girl names. And the first was a boy.
    The second time I did not pick out any boy names and did not find out till I was almost 8months that it was indeed a girl.
    So I have had it both ways. We were just thankful that I was healthy and the babies were healthy.
    I had very rough pregnancies, but besides the c-sections the babies were big and healthy.
    I think the babies slept in our room for the first week….I could not sleep because I am such a light sleeper. So we used a baby monitor and they slept in their baby bed. By two weeks they were sleeping through the night……I guess God knew what I could handle. 😉

    I am so glad I got in on this before you got pregnant….it has been neat praying for you and the baby. 🙂

  2. Congratulations! Yeah for little girls. I am glad to hear that all is well.

  3. Really happy for you.

    Look out for low iron though.

    I don’t care what “studies” say, I was seriously iron deficient in some pregnancies, to the point of my iron being so low it was medically dangerous – and I thought I was eating a normal diet!

    I ended up with iron infusions (like a blood transfusion only different).

    Some people do not tolerate iron tablets very well – I guess I was one of these people, taking normal iron tabs never helped.

    You can get liquid chlorophyll (?sp) which does help the iron-intolerant; and Floradix is meant to be the best NHS-available supplement (liquid).

    Just my experience from years of having very low iron. It can make you feel tired and miserable, physically and mentally, so I hope it gets sorted soon.

    Not long to go, I am so happy for you!

    How sure were they with the scan? I have a friend (lol I’m so old I have a friend in every category 🙂 who was told her baby was going to be a girl, and he wasn’t . . she said aftewards she was glad she’d seen him being born, or she would have thought there was a mistake (she nearly had an emergency CS, but baby arrived while they were prepping her)

    God is good. You are blessed, and I am glad I found your blog.

  4. vicaragekate

    Thank you all so much for your support and kind words.
    Baby showers are only just starting to become popular over here – people seeing them on American TV programmes and liking the idea – so it is unlikely I will be getting one (cue: deep sighs and violin music). I have been getting busy on some shopping in secondhand sales, though – I’ll share some pics soon!
    Thankfully the iron tablets seem to be working for me, my body seems to be tolerating them well.

Leave a Reply

