baby bargains

I spent the last two Saturdays at second hand sales of baby clothes and toys and here are my purchases:

As you can see pink items won out (the best bargains were bagged bundles for boys or girls, and actually there weren’t that many unisex items).  Local branches of the National Childbirth Trust run secondhand sales in the autumn and sometimes in the spring as well.  These sales are very very busy.  I went to the only two sales I could get to this season, and it was well worth the time and effort especially as the items I bought were better quality than I could have afforded new. 

I took a trip up to North London to buy curtain fabric a couple of weeks ago, this is what I came back with:

In amongst the flowers are birds and dragonflies.  I also got some blackout fabric to line the curtains with.  Curtain making can wait til I’ve got the repainting done – I need to get busy painting while I can still move around fairly easily, at least sewing jobs I can sit down for!  My hope is to start work on the painting next week.

3 Comments

Filed under out and about

3 responses to “baby bargains

  1. How exciting! It’s so fun to fix up the nursery and buy all the little pink things.

  2. Holly

    Kate…such a wonderful time of preparation, waiting for that little one! The fabric is perfect! 🙂

  3. I can’t wait to see pictures of this little bundle that I have been praying for. I am sure all of these little goodies will come in handy. I was so thankful to have hand me downs for both Julia and Michael. I don’t know what we would have done without them.
    And yes, don’t put off the painting too long…you might have to call in some help if you do.
    You’ll have to post the pictures when the room is finished.

Leave a Reply

