the tale of the (not so) ghostly piano tuner

As yesterday was my husband’s day off we went shopping and took the dog for a walk in a more exciting place than he gets for the rest of the week.  When we got home about mid-afternoon we found my father-in-law’s front door keys in the lock on the front door.  My father-in-law was upstairs in his room watching TV and dozing.  We all make mistakes and are forgetful from time to time, but leaving keys in the door in a busy urban area such as this is very dangerous.  When we all sat down to dinner I pointed this out to him (in no uncertain terms). 

 His daftness then hit higher levels as he told us he had heard the piano in the afternoon.  Had I been playing it?  Definitely not (if the carpal tunnel syndrome was not enough to stop me playing the piano the fact that it is so out of tune than it bothers even me has certainly been stopping me).  “It sounded like it was being tuned.  Someone was going ‘dah, dah, dah’,” claimed my father-in-law.  Simon and I rubbished all this.  “You obviously dreamt it.”   “You heard us talking about the piano tuner coming tomorrow and you dreamt about it.”  “You heard something on the TV or, more likely, a car stereo up too loud in the street outside.”  My father-in-law was not convinced by any of this and jumped to the conclusion that, sadly, is all too logical in his mind:  “it must have been a ghost”.  Simon and I did not keep our scorn and scepticism quiet.  I (in a spectacularly bad mood all day) finished the discussion with, “Well, you didn’t hear this piano being played, and that’s an end to it.”

Now, let us jump forward to a little earlier today when the piano tuner arrived at our house to tune our piano and the two in the Church.  I have such admiration for this man.  He is completely blind (cannot even distinguish light and dark)  and yet manages to support himself through his work.  Just before he arrived I cleared a wide path through the living room to the piano and removed the few items that were on top of the piano.  “I’ve got a surprise for you,” he said.  He then proceeded to tell me how he got his appointments confused yesterday and ended up on our doorstep at midday yesterday.  Simon and I were out, of course, but my father-in-law’s keys were in the door.  A bit frightened, he came in (with the taxi driver’s help), found the piano and tuned it, not realising he had got the wrong day until he checked his appointments in his (audio) diary!

To say I am eating humble pie doesn’t even come close!  I fetched my father-in-law so he could hear the story first hand, and yes, I have apologised profusely, as has Simon.  We were right about one thing, though:  there was a perfectly rational explanation.

1 Comment

Filed under Vicarage life

One response to “the tale of the (not so) ghostly piano tuner

  1. There is always a perfectly rational explanation. But, I think if I had been home and heard the commotion downstairs I might have poked my head around the corner…or down the stairs.
    That is a good lesson for you for when your little one gets older. Give them a chance to explain before you swat the hind quarters. 🙂
    Been there, done that. I have had my share of humble Pie. 😉

Leave a Reply

