new scan

We’ve just come back from having a scan to check the location of the placenta (which was very low at the 22 week scan).  We are very thankful that the placenta has grown up, the location is no longer a problem.  The baby seems to be doing well – the estimate on weight is a whopping 7lbs 12 oz!!  (and I’m only 36 weeks).  I knew I was right not to buy any newborn clothing!

We finally managed to do the hospital tour last night.  The midwife showing us around was so nice, and everything was very peaceful on the wards (no screaming to be heard!).  To my surprise the standard delivery rooms were nicer than I’d imagined, and the “home from home” rooms (these are all available free on the NHS, it just depends on staffing levels) weren’t as nice as I’d pictured.  The “home from home” rooms have much more space to move around (active birth philosophy), and have en suite toilet and bath facilities (this is what sells them to me!).  The only pain relief available on them however is gas and air (just as it would be if I had a home birth), and after the estimate on the baby’s weight at today’s scan Simon said to me, “So, does the weight of the baby affect which room you’d like to request?  He has a point, I think I might well like to have the option of other, stronger, forms of pain relief!

6 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy

6 responses to “new scan

  1. Holly

    So exciting, Kate! 🙂 Not long, not long….!

  2. Neither of my children were little ones….8’9 and 9’3.
    Sounds like your little one is one the way up there.
    I was glad to hear that all is healthy and that you are doing good. I know you have to be getting so excited.
    You do what makes you feel comfortable in the hospital. It will help you relax when the time comes. A healthy baby is all you want…..and what it took to get them here will not matter in the end. So take the meds to help with the pain if you want to. My sister was so set on not using anything…..but then she could not relax and let the process go until she took something. And my SIL is a whole other story. She did a at home birth in a big tub. It really boggles the mind.
    I am just glad you are getting to this point. Can’t wait to see this little one that we have been praying for for so long. Well, so long in blogging terms. 🙂

  3. MrsC

    I am so glad things are going well, I agree with Sharon, just do whatever you need to, sometimes all the plans don’t work out like you think, just go with the flow. My son was a big baby 9lb 10oz, he’s all ground up now.

  4. Missing you…..wondering how you are doing.
    Praying for you.

  5. Wonderful paintings! That is the type of info that are supposed to be shared across the web. Disgrace on Google for no longer positioning this publish upper! Come on over and visit my site . Thank you =)

Leave a Reply

